General Awareness - SPLessons

Chapter 30

Indian Polity

General Awareness - SPLessons

Indian Polity

shape Description

Indian polity has multiparty system, where political parties are categorised as national, state or regional level parties. All parties are registered with the election commission of india. and are given a unique election symbol. The status of the parties accorded by the election commission ofindia

shape Concepts

There are six recognised national parties are Bharatiya Janata Party, the congress, the communist party of india(CPI), the (CPI)M, the Bahujan samaj party (BSP), the nationalist congress party. the state parties are 36 and regional parties are 657.
Below are the leading national parties of India.
Bharatiya janata Party:

Founded December 1980
Founders Atal Bihari vajpayee, LK Advani
Prominent Leaders of BJP Narendra Modi,Atal Bihari vajpayee, LK Advani, Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Sushma Swaraj
Parliamentary Board Chairperson Amit Shah
President of BJP Amit Shah
Leader of BJP in Loksabha Narendra Modi
Leader of BJP in Rajya sabha Arun jaitley
Political Position Right Wing
Philosophy Cultural Nationalism, Integral Humanism, Social Traditionalism
Alliance NDA(National Democratic Alliance)
BJP Youth Wing Bharatiya Janata Youth Wing(BJYM)
BJP Women Wing BJP Mahila Morcha(BJPMM)
Student Wing Akhila Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad(ABVP)
Peasant’s Wing BJP Kisan Morcha

Indian National Congress:

Founded 1885, 129 years ago
Founders British Civil Civil Servant Allan Octavian Hume
Present Prominent Leaders of INC Sonia Gandhi, Rahul Gandhi, Dr Manmohan Singh
Parliamentary Board Chairperson Sonia Gandhi
President of INC Sonia Gandhi
Leader of INC in the 16th Lok sabha Mallikarjun Kharge
Vice President Rahul Gandhi
Political Position Center Left
Philosophy Indian Nationalism (Liberal), Social Democracy, Democratic Socialism, Gandhian Socialism, Progressivism
Alliance United Progressive Alliance (UPA)
Student Wing National Students Union of India (NSUI)
Labour Wing Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC)

Communist Party of India(CPI):

Founded December 1925
Prominent Leaders A.B. Bardhan, Dr. M. Nara Singh, Gurudas, D.Raja
Political Position Left Wing
General Secretary SS Reddy

Communist Party of India(Marxist):

Founded December 1925
Founder M.N.Roy, Abani Mukherjee, Evelyn Trent Roy who was M.N.Roy’s wife, Mohammad Ali, Mohammad Siddiqui
Prominent Leaders EMS Namboodiripad, EK Nayanar, Jyoti Basu, M Prakash Karat, Biman Basu, Manik Sarkar, V.S.Achutanandan, Pinarayi Vijayan, Buddhadeb Bhattacharjee, K. Vardharajan, B.V.Raghavulu, Brinda Karat, Nirupam Sen, Surja Kanta Mishra
Political Position Left Wing
General Secretary Sitaram Yechury

Nationalist Congress Party:

Founded 25th May 1999
Founder Sharad Pawar, P.A.Sangma and Tariq Anwar
Present Prominent Leaders Sharad Pawar, Tariq Anwar, Praful Patel
President Sharad Pawar

Bahujan Samaj Party:

Founded 1984
Founder kanshi Ram
President Mayawati

shape Model Questions

1. What is the Political position of BJP?
A. Right Wing
B. Center Left
C. Center Right
D. None of the Above
2. When the BJP Party founded?
A. December 1970
B. December 1980
C. December 1990
D. December 2000
3. Who is the founder of BJP?
A. Narendra Modi
B. Sushma Swaraj
C. Atal Bihar Vajpayee
D. Amit Shah
4. When the Indian National Congress founded?
A. 1880
B. 1882
C. 1884
D. 1885
5. Who was the founder of Indian National Congress Party?
A. British Civil Servant Allan Octavian Hume
B. Indira Gandhi
C. Rajiv Gandhi
D. Jawaharlal Nehru
6. Who is the president of Indian National Congress?
A. Rahul Gandhi
B. Sonia Gandhi
C. Manmohan Singh
D. Arun Jaitley
7. When the Communist Party of India founded?
A. 1920
B. 1922
C. 1925
D. 1930
8. When the Nationalist Congress Party founded?
A. 1992
B. 1994
C. 1996
D. 1999
9. Who is the founder of nationalist Congress Party?
A. Sharad Pawar
B. Dr Manmohan Singh
C. Sonia Gandhi
D. Rahul Gandhi
10. Who is the president of Bahujan Samaj Party?
A. Kanshi Ram
B. Mayawati
C. Sharad Pawar
D. Tariq Anwar