Quick Look - SPLessons

Oscar Award Winners 2018

SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

Oscar Award Winners 2018

List Of 90th Oscar Academy Awards Winners 2017

shape Introductions

The Academy Awards, also known as the Oscars, are a set of 24 awards for artistic and technical merit in the American film industry, given annually by the Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), to recognize excellence in cinematic achievements as assessed by the Academy’s voting membership. The various category winners are awarded a copy of a golden statuette, officially called the “Academy Award of Merit”, which has become commonly known by its nickname “Oscar”. The sculpture was created by George Stanley. The awards, first presented in 1929 at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel, are overseen by AMPAS.

The awards ceremony was first broadcast on radio in 1930 and televised for the first time in 1953. It is now seen live in more than 200 countries and can be streamed live online. The Academy Awards ceremony is the oldest worldwide entertainment awards ceremony.

Most awards: The Shape of Water (4)
Most nominations: The Shape of Water (13)

shape Awardees

The List of 2018 Oscar Awards Winners

Category Winners
Best Picture The Shape of Water – Guillermo del Toro and J. Miles Dale
Best Director Guillermo del Toro – The Shape of Water
Best Actor Gary Oldman – Darkest Hour as Winston Churchill
Best Actress Frances McDormand – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri as Mildred Hayes
Best Supporting
Sam Rockwell – Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri as Officer Jason Dixon
Best Supporting
Allison Janney – I, Tonya as LaVona Golden
Best Original
Get Out – Written by Jordan Peele
Best Adapted
Call Me by Your Name – James Ivory based on the novel by André Aciman
Best Animated
Feature Film
Coco – Lee Unkrich and Darla K. Anderson
Best Foreign
Language Film
A Fantastic Woman (Chile) in Spanish – Directed by Sebastián Lelio