RRC Group D Level 1 - SPLessons

RRC Group D Exam Pattern

Chapter 5

SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

RRC Group D Exam Pattern

shape Introduction

Understanding the exam pattern and syllabus will help the candidates in devising effective preparation strategies. Speed/ Time management is vital in obtaining a good score in any competitive exam and hence, analysis of RRC Group D Exam Pattern and syllabus is very crucial to be able to complete the exams in the stipulated time.

RRC Group D Level-1 Selection Process shall involve four stages: Computer Based Test(s), Physical Efficiency Test (PET), Document Verification (DV) and Medical Examination.

shape Pattern

RRC Group D Level-1 – Computer Based Test (CBT) Pattern:

  • All the eligible candidates have to undergo a Computer Based Test(s) on the specified date(s), time and venue(s) as per the e-call letter to be downloaded by the candidates from the websites of RRBs/RRCs.

  • The information about the e-call letter download shall be communicated through the websites as well as personal email communication to the candidates.

  • The examination duration and number of questions for CBT are indicated below:

    in Minutes
    No of Questions (each of 1 mark) from Total No of
    Mathematics General
    and Reasoning
    and Current
    90 25 25 30 20 100

  • The examination duration will be 120 Minutes for eligible PwBD candidates accompanied with Scribe.

  • The section wise distribution given in the above table is only indicative and there may be some variation in the actual question paper.

  • There will be negative marking and 1/3 marks shall be deducted for each wrong answer.

  • Minimum percentage of marks for eligibility in various categories:

    • UR – 40%,

    • EWS – 40%,

    • OBC (Non creamy layer) – 30%,

    • SC – 30%,

    • ST – 30%.

  • These percentage of marks for eligibility may be relaxed by 2% for PwBD candidates in case of shortage of PwBD candidates against vacancies reserved for them.

  • Where a second stage CBT is deemed necessary and held, the Railway Administration reserves the right to treat the first stage CBT as a qualifying test for the purpose of short listing a reasonable number of candidates for the second stage.

shape Normalization

Normalisation of Marks:

Short listing of Candidates for various stages shall be based on the normalized marks obtained by them whenever CBT is conducted in multiple sessions for the same syllabus. The normalization scheme to be adopted for 1st Stage CBT and 2nd Stage CBT is detailed in following paragraphs.

Calculation of Normalized Marks for Multi-Session Papers:

In 1st Stage CBT, for some 7th CPC Levels in 2nd Stage CBT and for CBAT, the examination may have to be conducted in multiple sessions. For these multisession papers, a suitable normalization is applied to take into account any variation in the difficulty levels of the question papers across different sessions.

The formula for calculating the normalized marks for the multi-session papers is detailed below:

Normalization mark of \(j^{th}\) candidate in \(i^{th}\) session \(\widehat{M}_{ij}\) is given by:

\(\widehat{M}_{ij}\) = \(\frac{\overline{M}_{t}^g – {M}_{q}^g}{\overline{M}_{ti} – {M}_{iq}}({M}_{ij} – {M}_{iq}) + {M}_{q}^g\)

\({M}_{ij}\): is the actual marks obtained by the jth candidate in \(j^{th}\) session.

\(\overline{M}_{t}^g\): is the average marks of the top 0.1% of the candidates considering all sessions.

\({M}_{q}^g\): is the sum of mean and standard deviation marks of the candidates in the paper considering all sessions.

\(\overline{M}_{ti}\): is the average marks of the top 0.1% of the candidates in the ith session or marks of topper if session strength is less than 1000.

\({M}_{iq}\): is the sum of the mean marks and standard deviation of the \(i^{th}\) session