NTA UGC NET - National Eligibility Test - SPLessons


SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks


shape Introduction

What is UGC NET exam?

  • University Grants Commission – National Entrance Test (UGC NET) is an examination that is conducted for selection of candidates for the position of Junior Research Fellowship (JRF) and Assistant Professor.

  • Since December 2018, CBSE will no longer conduct the NET exam. The National Testing Agency (NTA) will regulate the UGC NET.

  • The exam is conducted over 84 subjects.

  • All the selected candidates are placed across India in over 874 UGC approved universities.

  • The examination is usually conducted online biannually.

shape Purpose

Why to Take the UGC NET Exam?

The examination is required to pursue higher order research in the

  • Universities, departments, institutes of National importance,
  • National laboratories, and
  • Institutes of CSIR that deal in various fields of science and technology.

The qualified candidates are awarded either a JRF or Lecturership.

Candidates qualifying as JRF are also eligible for lectureship.

The UGC NET qualification is mandatory for teaching in any Indian university or college.

shape Eligibility

What is the Eligibility Criteria Set for Taking the UGC NET Exam?

NTA is regulating the exam at a national level. It is ideal to check the eligibility criteria before filling the application form. The candidature is cancelled if the candidate is found ineligible and legal action might be taken against such candidates.

The eligibility criteria for UGC NET exam is:

  • All candidates applying for the review must have a Bachelor’s degree with at least 55% marks.

  • All candidates applying for JRF must attain 28 years of age as on January 1 of the year in which the exam has to be taken.

  • Candidates applying for JRF should not be more than 30 years of age. For the post of Assistant professor, there is no upper age limit set.

  • Candidates who are pursuing final year Master’s program and have results awaited may also apply for the test.

  • Such candidates can be provisionally admitted for JRF or Assistant professor’s post.

What are the Kinds of Relaxation Offered to Candidates of Different Categories Taking the UGC NET Exam?

  • Students belonging to the reserved category are provided with a relaxation of up to 5 years.

  • Candidates who have attained PhD degree are given a relaxation of 5% aggregate marks if they have completed masters degree 27 years before the year of taking the exam.

  • A fee relaxation is provided to candidates of the transgender category.

  • Scheduled Caste, Scheduled Tribe, Other Backward Classes, Persons with Disabilities are provided relaxation in the subject wise cut-offs.

  • shape Selection

    What is the Selection Process for the UGC NET Exam?

    • The Selection process for UGC NET consists of different rounds of screening of candidates.

    • A candidate who has secured minimum marks in the two papers can be considered for the post of JRF and Assistant Professor if the candidate matches the eligibility criteria also.

    • The candidates will be selected for the post of Assistant Professor and declared as NET qualified if they are the top 15% candidates from each of the reserved category merit list and have the prescribed minimum marks.

    What is the Reservation Percentage for Each Category of the Candidate Applying for UGC NET Exam?

      Categories Reservation Percentage (in %)
      Other Backward Classes (OBC) 27
      Scheduled Caste (SC) 15
      Scheduled Tribe (ST) 7.5
      Person with Disabilities (PwD) 3

    shape Pattern

    What is the Examination Pattern for the UGC NET Exam?

    • NET is a computer-based test that is conducted in English and Hindi medium.

    • The duration of the paper is 3 hours which is divided into two parts. There is paper one that lasts one hour, followed by paper two that lasts for 2 hours.

    • In total the exam consists of 150 multiple type questions. While paper 1 consists of 50 questions, there are 100 questions in Paper 2.

    What does the Syllabus for UGC NET Generally Comprises?

    • The questions in UGC NET Paper I are generally generic. The test is primarily designed to test the candidate’s reasoning ability, comprehension, divergent thinking, and general awareness.

    • The questions in the UGC NET Paper II are based on the subjects selected by the candidates. It is advised to revise all the topics of Masters and Bachelors syllabus to attempt well in this paper. All questions are compulsory to be tried.

    What is the Marking Scheme Followed in UGC NET Exam?

    There is a uniform marking system that has to be followed in the exam.

    • Each correct answer in both the paper will carry two marks.

    • There is no scope for negative marking in the exam for any questions left unanswered or provided incorrect answers.

    • It is advised to attempt all questions, instead of skipping them.