GK - World - SPLessons

USA Presidents

SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

USA Presidents

USA Presidents

shape Introduction

The United States of America, often referred as US or USA or simply America, has 50 states and a population of over 327 million people. USA has a total area of 3.8 million square miles (9.8 million km2), and is the world’s third or fourth largest country by total area. The capital of USA is Washington, D.C., and the largest city by population is New York.

The President of USA(POTUS) is the head of state and head of government of the United States of America. The President of USA is indirectly elected to a four-year term by the people through the Electoral College. The President directs the executive branch of the federal government and is the commander-in-chief of the United States Armed Forces. When the office was established in 1789, the first President, George Washington, won a unanimous vote of the Electoral College.

The President of USA is honored as one of the world’s most powerful political figures. The President of USA is responsible for the world’s most expensive military, which has the second largest nuclear arsenal. The President of USA also leads the nation with the largest economy by nominal GDP. The President of USA possesses significant domestic and international power. The executive power of the United States is vested in the The President of USA. USA Presidents lists the Presidents Of USA since 1789 when the office was first established.

shape Presidents

USA Presidents since the establishment of office in 1789.

President Party Term as President Vice-president
George Washington (1732-1799) None, Federalist 1789-1797 John Adams
John Adams (1735-1826) Federalist 1797-1801 Thomas Jefferson
Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826) Democratic-Republican 1801-1809 Aaron Burr, George Clinton
James Madison (1751-1836) Democratic-Republican 1809-1817 George Clinton, Elbridge Gerry
James Monroe (1758-1831) Democratic-Republican 1817-1825 Daniel Tompkins
John Quincy Adams (1767-1848) Democratic-Republican 1825-1829 John Calhoun
Andrew Jackson (1767-1845) Democrat 1829-1837 John Calhoun, Martin van Buren
Martin van Buren (1782-1862) Democrat 1837-1841 Richard Johnson
William H. Harrison (1773-1841) Whig 1841 John Tyler
John Tyler (1790-1862) Whig 1841-1845 .
James K. Polk (1795-1849) Democrat 1845-1849 George Dallas
Zachary Taylor (1784-1850) Whig 1849-1850 Millard Fillmore
Millard Fillmore (1800-1874) Whig 1850-1853 .
Franklin Pierce (1804-1869) Democrat 1853-1857 William King
James Buchanan (1791-1868) Democrat 1857-1861 John Breckinridge
Abraham Lincoln (1809-1865) Republican 1861-1865 Hannibal Hamlin, AndrewJohnson
Andrew Johnson (1808-1875) National Union 1865-1869 .
Ulysses S. Grant (1822-1885) Republican 1869-1877 Schuyler Colfax
Rutherford Hayes (1822-1893) Republican 1877-1881 William Wheeler
James Garfield (1831-1881) Republican 1881 Chester Arthur
Chester Arthur (1829-1886) Republican 1881-1885 .
Grover Cleveland (1837-1908) Democrat 1885-1889 Thomas Hendriks
Benjamin Harrison (1833-1901) Republican 1889-1893 Levi Morton
Grover Cleveland (1837-1908) Democrat 1893-1897 Adlai Stevenson
William McKinley (1843-1901) Republican 1897-1901 Garret Hobart, Theodore Roosevelt
Theodore Roosevelt (1858-1919) Republican 1901-1909 Charles Fairbanks
William Taft (1857-1930) Republican 1909-1913 James Sherman
Woodrow Wilson (1856-1924) Democrat 1913-1921 Thomas Marshall
Warren Harding (1865-1923) Republican 1921-1923 Calvin Coolidge
Calvin Coolidge (1872-1933) Republican 1923-1929 Charles Dawes
Herbert C. Hoover (1874-1964) Republican 1929-1933 Charles Curtis
Franklin Delano Roosevelt (1882-1945) Democrat 1933-1945 John Garner, Henry Wallace, Harry S. Truman
Harry S Truman (1884-1972) Democrat 1945-1953 Alben Barkley
Dwight David Eisenhower (1890-1969) Republican 1953-1961 Richard Milhous Nixon
John Fitzgerald Kennedy (1917-1963) Democrat 1961-1963 Lyndon Johnson
Lyndon Baines Johnson (1908-1973) Democrat 1963-1969 Hubert Humphrey
Richard Milhous Nixon (1913-1994) Republican 1969-1974 Spiro Agnew, Gerald R. Ford
Gerald R. Ford (1913- 2006) Republican 1974-1977 Nelson Rockefeller
James (Jimmy) Earl Carter, Jr. (1924- ) Democrat 1977-1981 Walter Mondale
Ronald Wilson Reagan (1911- 2004) Republican 1981-1989 George H. W. Bush
George H. W. Bush (1924- ) Republican 1989-1993 James Danforth (Dan) Quayle
William (Bill) Jefferson Clinton (1946- ) Democrat 1993-2001 Al Gore
George W. Bush (1946- ) Republican 2001-2009 Richard Cheney
Barack Obama (1961- ) Democrat 2009-2017 Joseph Biden
Donald Trump (1946- ) Republican 2017-Incumbent Mike Pence

shape Quick Facts

  • Form of Government: Republic (Democracy)
  • Capital: Washington D.C.
  • Size: 9,826,675 square kilometers (3,794,083 square miles)
  • Population: 308,745,538 (U.S. Census 2010)
  • Time Zones: Eastern, Central, Mountain, Pacific, Alaska, Hawaii-Aleutia
  • Anthem: “The Star-Spangled Banner” Lyrics/Music by: Francis Scott Key/John Stafford Smith
  • March: “Stars and Stripes Forever” John Philip Sousa
  • Bird: Bald Eagle
  • Flower: Rose
  • Tree: Oak
  • Motto: In God we trust
  • Date of Independence: July 4, 1776
  • Largest State: Alaska
  • Smallest State: Rhode Island
  • Highest Elevation: Mount McKinley, Alaska (20,320 feet above sea level)
  • Lowest Elevation: Death Valley, California (282 feet below sea level)
  • Border Countries: Mexico, Canada