IBPS Clerk Career Progression

SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

IBPS Clerk Career Progression

shape Introduction

IBPS Clerk is the starting point of job in any Bank. That means you will get plenty of opportunities to get promoted to an officer cadre. The clerk would be provided with great growth opportunities, good salary packages for the starters. The clerks are the face of the banks. They are also termed as cashiers. The clerks could also apply for private sector banks after working for 3-4 years.

shape Progression

Appearing for Exams like the JAIIB & CAIIB will also help you in climbing the promotion ladder! Now run through the stages of promotion given to you if you are selected as a Bank Clerk through IBPS.

All the candidates who wish to get promotion from clerk to Officer need to apply for the promotion test and appeared for examination as well and also undergo their service for at least a period of 2 years in order to be eligible for promotion to Officer.

The promotions are conducted every 2 years and clerks have the opportunity to take part in it and eligible for promotion to Officer. There are two processes for clerical to Officer Promotion:

  • Normal process

  • Merit basis process

These two processes are applied to individual candidates depending on their performance and experience in the banking services.

Normal process Merit basis process
  • Under the Normal process, the employee (bank clerk) has to qualify written exam and on the basis of his experience and seniority in the services of bank, he can be selected as Officer.

  • In this process no JAIIB and CAIIB diploma are compulsory. After clearing this exam, you will become a Trainee Officer (TO).

  • Trainee Officer can later become Probationary Officers (PO).
  • Two-year service (minimum) as a clerk with a JAIIB and CAIIB diploma conducted by Indian Institute of Banking and Finance (IIBF) is must with graduate/post graduate degree.

After becoming Probationary Officers (PO) there are seven scales in officer cadre:

  • Scale 1: Officer / Assistant Manager

  • Scale 2: Manager

  • Scale 3: Senior Manager

  • Scale 4: Chief Manager

  • Scale 5: Asst. General Manager

  • Scale 6: Deputy General Manager

  • Scale 7: General Manager.