GK - India - SPLessons

Indian Men Personalities

SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

Indian Men Personalities

shape Introduction

Indian Men Personalities article presents the list of Indian Men Personalities who are prominently known for their achievements and for being the first females in their respective fields. Indian Men Personalities, is one of the important topics in the General Awareness section in many competitive exams such as IBPS, SSC, UPSC, RRB, RBI, SBI etc.

shape Personalities

The history of Indian Men is full of pioneers, who have broken gender barriers and worked hard for their rights and made progress in the field of politics, arts, science, law etc.

Below table contains the list of Indian Men Personalities

Name Achievement
Rajendra Prasad
First President of India, in office from 1950 to 1962.
Jawaharlal Nehru
First Prime Minister of India
Chakravarti Rajgopalachari
First Indian Governor General of the country
Lord Lewis Mountbatten
First Governor-General of independent India (1947–48)
Kodandera Madappa Cariappa
First Indian Commander-in-Chief of India
Lord Lewis Mountbatten
First Governor-General of independent India (1947–48)
Sam HormusjiFramji Jamshedji Manekshaw(S.H.F.J. Manekshaw)
First Indian Army officer to be promoted to the rank of field marshal
Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar
First Speaker of the Lok Sabha
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
First Vice President of India
Vallabhbhai Jhaverbhai Patel
First home minister and also the first deputy prime minister
Sir R. K. Shanmukham Chetty
An Indian lawyer, economist and politician who served as independent India’s first finance minister from 1947 to 1949
V. Narahari Rao
First Comptroller and Auditor General of India from 1948 to 1954
Dharamnath Prasad Kohli (D.P Kohli)
Founder Director of the CBI, India’s Central Investigation Agency. He held office from 1 April 1963 to 31 May 1968
Sir Osborne Arkell Smith
First Governor of the Reserve Bank of India, a post he held from 1 April 1935 to 30 June 1937
Morarji Desai
First Non-Congress Prime-Minister of India
Warren Hastings
First Governor General of Bengal
Rakesh Sharma
First Indian to go into space
Satyendranath Tagore
First Indian to join the Indian Civil Service
Mihir Sen
A long distance swimmer, best known for being the first Indian to conquer the English Channel from Dover to Calais in 1958
Acharya Vinoba Bhave
First Indian to won Raman-Magsaysay awardee
Rabindra Nath Tagore
First Indian to won the Nobel Prize in Literature
C. V. Raman
First Indian to won the Nobel Prize in Physics
Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee
First president of Indian National Congress
Sukumar Sen
An Indian civil servant who was the first Chief Election Commissioner of India, serving from 21 March 1950 to 19 December 1958
Justice Dr. Nagendra Singh
First Indian Chairman in International Court.
Khan Abdul Gaffar Khan
First Foreigner awardee of Bharat Ratna
Dr. Syed Zahuv Quasim
First Leader of the Indian Antarctica Mission
Lal Bahadur Shastri
First individual to be honored Bharat Ratna Awardee posthumously
G. Sankara Kurup
First winner of the Jnanpith Award, India’s highest literary award. He won the prize in 1965 for his collection of poems in Malayalam Odakkuzhal
Dr P Venugopal
Head of the cardio thoracic centre in the All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS), leads a team of doctors in carrying out the first successful heart transplant in the country
Devi Ram
First heart transplant patient of India
Justice Rangnath Mishra
First chairman of the National Human Rights Commission of India
Dadabhai Naoroji
Campaigned for Indian causes and was the first Indian Member of Parliament elected to the UK House of Commons
Robert clive
First one to get assigned to the post of Governor of Bengal
Zakir Husain
Muslim President of Indian Republic
James Augustus Hicky
An Irishman who launched the first printed newspaper in Asia.
Major Somnath Sharma
First recipient of Param Vir Chakra, India’s highest military decoration
First Chinese pilgrim to visit India
P.V. Narasimha Rao
India first lok Sabha member to be elected with a record maximum number of votes
Sherpa Phu Dorji
Indian to summit Mt. Everest without oxygen
Sukumar Sen
An Indian civil servant who was the first Chief Election Commissioner of India
First Indian Pilot
Lt.Ram Charan
First Indian to reach Antarctica
Morarji Desai
First India Prime Minister to resign from office
Dr. Zakir Hussain
First President of India to die in office
Nawang Gombu
First Man to climb Mt.Everest twice
First Indian to reach the South Pole
Bhanu Athaiya
First Indian recipient of Oscar Award
Dwight David Eisenhower
First American President to visit India
Harold Mc Millon
First British Prime Minister to visit India
Ruskin Bond
First Indian author to get Anderson Award
Wilson Jones
First Indian to win World Billiards Trophy
Santosh George
First Indian Space Tourist
K.D. Jadhav
Created history by winning a bronze medal in wrestling at the 1952 Olympics in Helsinki Capital of Finland.
Kumar Ram Narain Karthikeyan
First Formula One driver from India
Viswanathan Anand
India’s first grand master in 1988
Virender Sehwag
First Indian batsman to score a triple century in test cricket
Khashaba Dada saheb Jadhav
First individual athlete from India to win a medal at the Olympics
Cottari Kanakaiya(CK) Nayudu
First captain of the Indian cricket team in Test matches.
Sachin Tendulkar
First player to score 10,000 runs in ODIs