GK - India - SPLessons

Indian Presidents

SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

Indian Presidents

Indian Presidents

shape Introduction

The article present the list of Indian Presidents from 1950-2018. This article plays a prominent role in GA/GK preparation in many competitive exams.

shape Presidents

The President of India is the head of state of India and the commander-in-chief of the Indian Armed Forces. The President is referred to as the first citizen of India. Although vested with these powers by the Constitution of India, the position is largely a ceremonial one and executive powers are de facto exercised by the Prime Minister.

The President is elected by the Electoral College composed of elected members of the parliament houses, the Lok Sabha and the Rajya Sabha, and also members of the Vidhan Sabha, the state legislative assemblies. Presidents may remain in office for a tenure of five years, as stated by article 56, part V, of the Constitution of India. In the case where a President’s term of office is terminated early or during the absence of the President, the Vice President assumes office. By article 70 of part V, the parliament may decide how to discharge the functions of the President where this is not possible, or in any other unexpected contingency.

Below table contains the list of Indian Presidents year wise.

Name Term of Office (Start) Term of Office (End) Picture
Rajendra Prasad 26 January 1950 12 May 1962
Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan 13 May 1962 13 May 1967
Zakir Husain 13 May 1967 3 May 1969
Varahagiri Venkata Giri 3 May 1969 20 July 1969
Mohammad Hidayatullah 20 July 1969 24 August 1969
Varahagiri Venkata Giri 24 August 1969 24 August 1974
Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed 24 August 1974 11 February 1977
Basappa Danappa Jatti 11 February 1977 25 July 1977
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 25 July 1977 25 July 1982
Zail Singh 25 July 1982 25 July 1987
Ramaswamy Venkataraman 25 July 1987 25 July 1992
Shankar Dayal Sharma 25 July 1992 25 July 1997
Kocheril Raman Narayanan 25 July 1997 25 July 2002
Avul Pakir Jainulabdeen Abdul Kalam 25 July 2002 25 July 2007
Pratibha Patil 25 July 2007 25 July 2012
Pranab Mukherjee 25 July 2012 25 July 2017
Ram Nath Kovind 25 July 2017 Incumbent