GK - India - SPLessons

Political Organizations Before Indian National Congress

SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

Political Organizations Before Indian National Congress

shape Introduction

The Indian National Congress is a broadly based political party in India. Founded in 1885, it was the first modern nationalist movement to emerge in the British Empire in Asia and Africa. The article Political Organizations Before National Congress will help the aspirants to get the list of different Political Organizations before the establishment of Indian National Congress.

shape INC

Political Parties Before Indian National Congress – Different Political Parties:

The following list is about the different Political Organizations Before the establishment of the Indian National Congress

Landholder’s Society (1838/Calcutta):

  • Dwarkanath Tagore Established the Zamindari Association along with Prasanna Kumar Tagore, Radhakanta Deb, Ramkamal Sen and Bhabani Charan Mitra which was later known
    as Landholder’s Society.

  • It was rst organization of Bengal which had a distinct political objective

British India Society (1839/London):

  • William Adams Established the British India Society (1839/London) Party.

  • This society was founded in England initially.

  • The first executive committee consisted of 15 members out of which 11 were Indians.

  • George Thompson was the president & GF Remfry and Ramgopal Ghosh were the Vice President and Peary Chand Mitra was the Secretary of that Executive Committee

Bengal British India Society (1843/Calcutta): George Thomson Established this Political Party.

British India Association (1851/Calcutta): Devendranath Tagore & Radhakant Deb

Madras Native Association (1852/Madras): Gazulu Lakshminarasu Chetty

  • Gazulu Lakshminarasu Chetty also founded ” The Crescent”, which was the 1st Indian-owned newspaper in Madras.

Bombay Association (1852/Bombay): Naoroji Furdoonji

East India Association (1866/London): Dadabhai Naoroji

London Indian Society (1865/London): Feroz Shah Mehta, Badruddin Tyyabji, W. C. Banerji and
Manmohan Ghosh ( Under the Guidance of Dadabhai Naoroji )

National Indian Association: (1867/London): Mary Carpenter

Poona Sarvajanik Sabha (1867/Poona: G. Ranade, G.V. Joshi and Chiplankar

Indian Society (1872/London): Anand Mohan Bose

India League (1875/ Calcutta): Sisir Kumar Ghosh

  • Sisir Kumar Ghosh also founded the famous ” Amrit Bazaar Patrika” in 1868.

Indian Association (1876/Calcutta): Anand Mohan Bose and Surendra Nath Banerji

National Conference (1883): Viraghavacharya, G. Subramaniya Aiyar and P. Anand

Madras Mahajan Sabha (1884/Madras): Charlu Indian National Union 1884 A.O. Hume

shape Quiz

1. Consider the following statements:
1)Adi Brahmo Sabha was founded by Raja Ram Mohan Roy in Kolkata.
2)All India Bramo Samaj was founded by Debendranath Tagore.
3)Sadharan Brahmo Samaj was founded by Anand Mohan Bose and Kesab Chandra Sen. Choose the incorrect statements.

    A. 1 and 2
    B. 2 and 3
    C. 1 and 3
    D. All of the above

Answer: Option D

2. When was the Madras Mahajan Sabha established?

    A. 1884
    B. 1825
    C. 1864
    D. 1885

Answer: Option A

3. Consider the following statements.
(1)Wyomesh Chandra Banerjee was the first Chairman on Indian National Congress.
(2) Dadabhai Naoroji was the first Parsi to Chair the Indian National Congress.
(3) George Hule was the first British to Chair the Indian National Congress.
Which of the above statements is/are true?

    A. Only 1
    B. 2 and 3
    C. 1 and 3
    D. 1, 2 and 3

Answer: Option D

4. Which among the following year Surendra Nath Banerjee was eliminated from Indian Civil Services?

    A. 1874 AD
    B. 1877 AD
    C. 1885 AD
    D. 1892 AD

Answer: Option A

5. Who was the leader of Poona Sarvajanik Sabha founded in 1870

    A. SN Banerjee
    B. Justice M.G Ranade
    C. KT Telang
    D. Firozshah Mehta

Answer: Option B

6. Consider the following statements.
I.Mahadev Govind Ranade founded the Widow Remarriage Association (1861).
II. He established the Poona Sarvajanik Sabha and the Deccan Education Society.
III.He believed that religious reform was separate from social reform. Choose the incorrect statement(s).

    A. I and III
    B. III only
    C. I only
    D. I and II

Answer: Option B

7. Match List-I with List-II and select the correct answer from the codes given below :

A) Land Holder’s Society
B) British India Society
C) Indian Society
D) Indian Association
1) S.N. Banerji
2) Anand Mohan Bose
3) William Adams
4) Dwarkanath Tagore

    A. A-4, B-3, C- 2, D-1
    B. A-4, B-2, C- 3, D-1
    C. A-3, B-2, C- 4, D-1
    D. A-4, B-1, C- 2, D-3

Answer: Option A

8. Consider the following statements:
a)East India Association was organised by Dadabhai Naoroji.
b)It was founded with the objective to stimulate the sense of nationalism amongst Indians. Which of the following statements are true?

    A. Only A is true
    B. Only B is true
    C. Both are true
    D. None is true

Answer: Option A

9. Who of the following was/were economic critic/critics of colonialism in India?
1). Dadabhai Naoroji
2). G. Subramaniya Iyer
3). R.C. Dutt
Select the correct answer using the code given below.

    A. 1 Only
    B. 1 and 2 Only
    C. 2 and 3 Only
    D. 1, 2, and 3

Answer: Option D

10. Consider the following statements:
a) Poona Sarvajanik Sabha was founded by MG Ranade.
b) The Bombay Presidency Association was started by Dadabhai Naoroji.
c) The Madras Mahajan Sabha was founded by B. Subramanian Iyer.
Which of the following statements are correct?

    A. Only A and C are correct
    B. Only B and C are Correct
    C. All are correct
    D. A, B and C are correct

Answer: Option A