GK - India - SPLessons

Telangana Facts

SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

Telangana Facts

shape Introduction

The state of Telangana, officially formed on 2nd June 2014 is the 29th state of the Union of India with Hyderabad as the capital of Telangana. Hyderabad will continue to serve as the joint capital city for Andhra Pradesh and Telangana for a period of 10 years. Telangana is bordered by the states of Andhra Pradesh to the east and south, Chhattisgarh to the north, Karnataka to the west and Maharashtra to the north and north-west. The chapter Telangana Facts lists some of the interesting facts about Telangana.

shape Facts


The Telangana government has announced the following icons for the new State:

  • State Animal – Jinka
  • State Tree – Prosopis cineraria
  • State Flower – Senna auriculata
  • State Bird – Indian Roller or Blue Jay
  • State Fruit – Mango

Place Description
Bhadrachalam Temple Lord Sree Sita Ramachandra Swamy Temple in Bhadrachalam, Bhadradri District. Bhadrachalam-The name derived from Bhadragiri (Mountain of Bhadra-a boon child of Meru and Menaka).
Charminar Is a monument and mosque located in Hyderabad, Telangana, it is constructed in 1951. The landmark has become a global icon of Hyderabad, listed among the most recognized structures of India
Golkonda Golla konda fort capital of the medieval sultanate of the Qutb Shahi dynasty, is situated 11 kilometres west of Hyderaba
Hussain Sagar Hussian Sagar is a lake built by Ibrahim Quli Qutab Shah in 1563 it is a heart shaped lake, it spread across an area of 5.7 square kilometers and it is also called Musi.
Kuntala waterfall of Adilabad Kuntala Waterfall is located in Kuntala, Adilabad district, Telangana. It is located on Kadem river in Neredigonda mandal. It is the highest waterfall in the state of Telangana
Mecca Masjid It is the one of the oldest and largest Mosques in India located in Hyderabad
Basara Basara is the one of famous Goddess Saraswati Temple in India. It is a Hindu temple located on the banks of Godavari River at Basar.
Birla Mandir Birla Mandir is a Hindu temple, built on a 280 feet (85 m) high hillock called Naubath Pahad on a 13 acres (53,000 m2) plot. The construction took 10 years and opened in 1976.

Telangana Facts – National Parks & Wildlife Sanctuaries:

    1. Kawal Wildlife Sanctuary Tiger Reserve
    2. Mrugavani National Park
    3. KBR National Park
    4. Mahavir Harina Vanasthali National Park

Telangana Facts – Economy

Telangana is a mineral rich state with coal reserves at Singareni Collieries.

The economy of Telangana is mainly depended upon agriculture due to the flow of two major rivers of India, the Godavari and Krishna, flow through the state, providing irrigation.

Farmers mainly depend on rain-fed water for irrigation. Rice is the major food crop, cotton, sugarcane are local crops.

There are many multi-state irrigation projects in development, including Godavari River Basin Irrigation Projects. And also focused on different fields like Information Technology and Biotechnology.

Telangana is one of top IT exporting states of India. There are 68 Special Economic Zones in the state.

Telangana Facts – Culture

Telangana state has been a meeting place for different languages and culture, Telangana is the link between North and South of India. Telangana is also called has Ganga – Jamuna Tehzeeb and the Capital Hyderabad as a miniature India.

Perini Sivatandavam or Perini Thandavam is an ancient dance from Telangana which has been revived in recent times. It originated and prospered in Telangana during the Kakatiya dynasty. The Perini Thandavam is a dance form usually performed by males. It is called ‘Dance of Warriors’.

Telangana Facts – Festivals

Festivals like Ugadi, Srirama Navami, Bonalu, Vinayaka Chaturthi, Dasara, Deepavali, Sankranti, Holi, Mahashivaratri, Ramzan, Moharram, Christmas are celebrated with devotion. Dasara is the main festival with the epithet ‘Pedda Panduga‘.

Bathukamma is a unique festival in the World celebrated in Telangana State, it is a part of Dasara festival. Colorful festival with historic, ecological, religious significance. Bathukamma prepared with flowers like Tangedu, Gunung, Chamanti and etc.

Name Description
Zakir Husain Husain was born in telangana on 8 February 1897, he was the third President of India and first Muslim Present.
P V Narsimha Rao P V Narsimha Rao was born in Karimnagar Distict Telangana on 28 June 1921 he was 9th Prime Minister of India.
Ali Yavar Jung Navab Ali was born in Hyderabad in febuary 1906, famous Indian diplomat to many European and Arabian countries. He also served as Governor of Maharashtra.
Shabana Azmi She was born in Hyderabad city in 18 Sept 1950, Popular actress, theatre and TV artist.
Mohammad Azharuddin He was was born in Hyderabad in 8 Feb 1963, famous cricketer and captain of Indian Cricket team
V V S Laxman He was born in Hyderabad on 1 Nov 1974, Famous test cricketer of Indian team
Dia Mirza was born in Hyderabad on 9 Dec 1981, Popular actress and winner of Miss Asia Pacific (year 2000).
Sania Mirza She was born in Mumbai on 15 Nov 1986 but resides in Hyderabad, Popular Tennis player. She was the first Indian woman to win WTA title.
Saina Nehwal Famous Badminton player who won bronze medal in badminton in London Olympics 2012 was born in Hisar of Haryana but resides in Hyderabad. She was also the first Indian to win Olympic medal in Badminton.

Basic Facts

Telangana is situated on Deccan plateau in the peninsular part of India. This region consists of two major rivers Godavari and Krishna, 79 % of Godavari’s and 69 % of Krishna river is in Telangana State.

    1. Capital – Hyderabad
    2. Official Language – Telugu
    3. Main Languages – Telugu, Urdu
    4. Area – 1,14,840 sq km
    5. Area Rank – 12th
    6. Population – 3,51,93,978
    7. Population Rank – 12th
    8. Population density – 310/sq km
    9. Literacy – 66.5%
    10. Sex ratio – 993 females for 1000 males
    11. No of Districts – 31
    12. No of Lok Sabha seats – 17
    13. No of Rajay Sabha seats – 7
    14. TS Formation Day – 2nd June 2014
    15. First Chief Minister – K. Chandrashekar Rao
    16. First Governor – E S L Narasimha
    17. Telangana state song – Jaya Jaya He Telangana Janani Jayakethanam
    18. Emblem – Kakatiya Kala Thoranam Chaminar