SSC CGL - SPLessons


SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks


shape Introduction

  • In India, the Staff Selection Commission annually conducts the Combined Grade Level (CGL) exam.

  • The SSC CGL exam consists of four tiers. Candidates take each of these tiers over different days. The SSC posts result after each of these tiers.

  • The table given below shall reveal the details of each tier of the exam.

shape Pattern

Tier Type of Exam Mode of Exam Section of the Exam
Tier-I Multiple Choice Online
  • General Intelligence & Reasoning
  • General Awareness
  • Quantitative Aptitude
  • English Language and Comprehension.
Tier-II Multiple Choice Online Paper I: Quantitative abilities
Paper-II: English Language and Comprehension
Paper III: Statistics
Paper IV: General Studies

Tier-III Descriptive Paper in Hindi or English Pen and Paper or offline Descriptive Type Paper in Hindi or English language.

Tier-IV Skill Test and Document Verification Wherever applicable Data Entry Speed Test (DEST)
Computer Proficiency Test (CPT).

shape Tier iv

The SSC CGL Tier IV exam consists of a few skill tests that are there for certain government posts. Further, there is also a procedure for document verification.

  • DEST is a test that helps to check the typing speed of the candidate. DEST is a test of qualifying nature.

  • If a candidate can achieve a DEST of 8000 key depression hourly on the computer, the candidate shall be eligible for the post of Tax Assistant at Central Excise & Income Tax.

  • DEST is a skill test that examines the candidates on a passage of about 2000 key depression in fifteen minutes.

  • Since, it checks the typing speed of the candidate, the orthopedically handicapped candidates who opt for the post of Tax Assistant in CBDT shall not appear for this test.

  • However, the orthopedically handicapped candidates who aspire for the post of Tax Assistant in CBEC have to take the skill test.

  • Candidates who have hearing and visual disabilities have to take this skill test compulsorily. Candidates who have a visual disability get the additional compensatory time of five minutes in the test.

  • Candidates with visual disabilities can opt for a scribe in the written examination to avail of a passage reader at the time of DEST.

  • The SSC examines the candidate’s computer skills through a Computer Proficiency Test or CPT. It comprises of three modules:
    • Word Processing,
    • Spread Sheet, and
    • Generation of slides.

  • Candidates who aspire to take up the following posts have to give this test;
    • Assistant Section Officer (Ministry of External Affairs),
    • Assistant Section Officer of Central Secretariat Service (CSS),
    • Assistant in Serious Fraud Investigation Office (SFIO), under the Ministry of Corporate Affairs and Assistant (GSI) in the Ministry of Mines.

  • CPT is of qualifying nature. However, how the SSC conducts the CPT shall depend upon the purpose of the test.

  • There are no exemptions for CPT. Candidates who belong to any category of Persons with Disabilities (PwD) shall have to take this skill test.

  • The last step to the final selection is the verification of documents. Candidates will have to submit copies of various documents including matriculation certificate, caste certificate, educational qualification, relevant document, and so on.

  • At the time of document verification, candidates shall have to produce all the documents in original.

  • Tier I is a compulsory exam for all posts. Candidates will have to prepare for the Tier II and Tier III exams simultaneously.

  • It is only when the candidate clears the cut off for Tier I and Tier II together, SSC will evaluate the Tier III Descriptive exam.

  • Tier IV exam is applicable for candidates who apply for TA, MEA, CSS, and Inspector.

  • Regular practice shall help to achieve accuracy in these skills and achieve high scores.

SSC CGL – Related Information
SSC CGL – English Language – Study Guide
SSC CGL – Reasoning Ability – Study Guide
SSC CGL – Quantitative Aptitude – Study Guide
SSC CGL – General Awareness – Study Guide