IBPS PO - SPLessons

IBPS PO Career Progression

SPLessons 5 Steps, 3 Clicks
5 Steps - 3 Clicks

IBPS PO Career Progression

shape Introduction

Every public sector bank, has a determined career progression. Likewise, an IBPS PO has a tremendous scope for career development. The career advancement as a PO is swift. A Probationary officer (PO) is the first level appointment for a bank personnel, and is responsible for various Administrative Activities. A PO can get a promotion in 3-5 years, depending on the talent, potential and vacancies that the bank might be having.

shape Career

The Promotion Grades are as follows:

  1. Junior Management Grade – Scale I: Officer i.e. PO

  2. Middle Management Grade – Scale II: Manager

  3. Middle Management Grade – Scale III: Senior Manager

  4. Senior Management Grade – Scale IV: Chief Manager

  5. Senior Management Grade – Scale V: Assistant General Manager

  6. Top Management Grade Scale – VI: Deputy General Manager

  7. Top Management Grade Scale – VII: General Manager

  8. Executive Director (ED)

  9. Chairman and Managing Director (CMD).

After Grade Scale VII, the position of Executive director as well as Chairman and Managing Director are allocated by the Government of India. A few selected individuals can also be selected as a Deputy Governor of RBI as one post is assigned to a commercial banker. Thus, an IBPS PO has an incredible and lucrative career progression.